Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Mentor Awards

Awards to USA, Canada, and International Individuals for
Promoting Diversity in the Fields of Science and Engineering

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $5,000 to USA, Canada, and International individuals to recognize outstanding leadership in the promotion and participation of underrepresented groups in engineering and science fields and careers. This may include African Americans, Native Americans, Hispanic men, women of all ethnic and racial groups, and people with disabilities.

There are two awards:
- Lifetime Mentor Award: This individual will have served in the role of mentor for 25 or more years.
- Mentor Award: This individual will have served in the role of mentor for less than 25 years.

Both awards recognize an individual who has mentored and guided significant numbers of students from underrepresented groups to the completion of doctoral studies or who has impacted the climate of a department, college, or institution to significantly increase the diversity of students pursuing and completing doctoral studies.

Such commitment and extraordinary effort may be demonstrated by:
- The number and diversity of students mentored
- Assisting students to present and publish their work, to find financial aid, and to provide career guidance
- Providing psychological support, encouragement, and essential strategies for life in the scholarly community
- Continued interest in the individual’s professional advancement

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 171301

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Estimated Size of Grant:

Lifetime Mentor Award: A prize of $5,000 will be awarded.
Mentor Award: A prize of $5,000 will be awarded.

Both award category recipients receive a monetary prize, a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration, and reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The award is open to all regardless of nationality or citizenship. Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is committed to equal opportunity for all persons, without regard to race, color, religion, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, national origin, age, disability, veteran status, or other protected categories. AAAS seeks as diverse a pool of award nominations as possible, including as well a wide range of disciplines, institutional types, and geographical locations.

Pre-Application Information:

Nomination deadline extended to August 15, 2019.

Nominations must be made in English.

It is important to indicate in the nomination materials how the nominee’s work resulted in a departmental and/or institutional change in terms of the granting of PhDs to underrepresented students. This can be documented not only with quantitative data but may also be demonstrated through the student and colleague letters of support.

Nominees can be nominated up to three times. If you are nominating someone who has been nominated for either award in the past, please indicate so in your Letter of Nomination.

AAAS Mentor Awards:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online nomination form:

If you prefer to submit your nomination via postal mail, please contact Michael Feder at

1200 New York Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20005

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.